A woman looking at the camera, sitting by a piano

RCM’s Head of Keyboard, Professor Vanessa Latarche, to advise the Lang Lang International Music Foundation

Monday 7 August 2023

Professor Vanessa Latarche, the RCM’s Head of Keyboard & Associate Director for Partnerships in Asia, is appointed as Artistic Advisor to the Lang Lang International Music Foundation. 

Professor Vanessa Latarche will provide artistic expertise and offer support and guidance to the foundation, assisting in the development of their Young Scholars. She will help cultivate the talent of gifted young pianists and will play an essential role in the growth and impact of the foundation worldwide. The appointment is testament to Professor Vanessa Latarche’s exceptional teaching legacy and global influence, and highlights the strength of connection between the RCM’s renowned Keyboard Faculty and the Lang Lang International Music Foundation. 

Professor Vanessa Latarche has been Head of Keyboard at the RCM since 2005 and was awarded a Fellowship of the RCM in 2010 for outstanding services to music. Additional to her Keyboard Faculty work, Vanessa was appointed as the Associate Director for Partnerships in Asia, which involves managing the RCM’s collaborative work in China and Singapore.  

Students under the tutelage of Professor Vanessa Latarche regularly go on to great success and include Alim Beisembayev: First Prize winner of Leeds International Piano Competition in 2021; Martin James Bartlett: exclusive recording artist with Warner Classics; and current student Jeneba Kanneh-Mason, who was recently named as one of Classic FM’s ‘Rising Stars’, to name but a few. 

The Royal College of Music Keyboard Faculty provides a range of programmes and enables specialisation in a variety of areas such as solo piano, contemporary piano, collaborative piano and organ, as well as fortepiano and harpsichord. Studying in the RCM’s Keyboard Faculty develops the key skills needed in order to forge careers in the music industry. 

Find out more about the Keyboard Faculty.  

Back to top